Vision - Mountain In The Sky (Collector's Edition)

Track listing:
01 - Mountain In The Sky
02 - Coming Soon
03 - Old Man
04 - Dynamos
05 - Standing In The Light
06 - Dedicated
07 - Fight The Good Fight
08 - Soldier's Song
09 - Lord Is My Joy
10 - Testimony by Billy Powell
11 - Testimony by Leon Wilkeson

It's re-release time for Christian rockers VISION with the remastered Collector's Edition release of their debut album MOUNTAIN IN THE SKY.

This album is part Lynyrd Skynyrd with Vision being proud host to both Leon Wilkeson and Billy Powell. All nine tracks from the original are here plus two tracks containg testimonies from both Leon Wilkeson and Billy Powell sharing how they found Jesus and became Christians.

Recorded in 1984, Mountain In The Sky does sound a little dated by todays standards. The sounds is very typical of Christian rock acts of the era (especially some Petra stuff) and the Lynyrd Skynyrd influence is very clear! That's not to say that this isn't a good album. As was typical of pioneering Christian rock artists the lyrics are completely blatant, no hidden messages, it does what it says on the tin.

The music is very good. There are some great riffs and wonderfully melodic choruses. As mentioned before, the lyrics are from the heart and do what they say on the tah in!

If you are a Christian rock completist then you must get this. If you are a fan of Kansas, Mylon Lefevre or Lynyrd Skynyrd then you would be advised to check this out.

Standout tracks:
Coming Soon
Standing In The Light
Soldiers Song

by K.T.Glitz

Visit the Born Twice Receords Website