News Update: 6th June

June 6, 2011 – 12:14

Superhorrofuck frontman and bassist to release solo album. Dr. Freak and Mr. Four, singer and bass player of Superhorrorfuck respectively, are going to finish the making of “Rock N Roll Brotherhood”, in the next few days, an album in which they will play an unusual and new soloist role. “Mr. Four and I felt the need to give voice to the softer and melodic side of our creativity, the one that with Superhorrorfuck is only partially developed; so having both the same wish, we decided to collaborate and make this album” says Dr. Freak. “Rock N Roll Brotherhood” will show a new and intimate side of the two musicians, linked to their former life, experiencing an electro-glam rock trend, with forays into pop, even though the combination of this gloomy term with the voices of the two, who will take turns behind the microphone, makes you shudder with fear at the thought… “Rock N Roll Brotherhood” may see the light in October on logic(il)logic, a label that has released the latest album of these zombies from Verona called “Livingdeadstars”. Meanwhile the other members of Superhorrorfuck are locked in their vault to gather new ideas for the third full length, scheduled for 2012.

The Violet May are set to release their debut EP ‘TV’ on June 27th on Oh! Inverted World Records. The EP will be available in all formats. Preceding the release of the EP, the lead track ‘TV’ will be available digitally via I-tunes on May 23rd. The five-track EP was recorded with Alan Smyth (who has previously worked with Pulp, Arctic Monkeys, Long Blondes) at 2Fly Studios in Sheffield.

Dananananaykroyd released their brand new single ‘Muscle Memory’ today! It’s the first proper single from second album ‘There Is A Way’ (released next Monday, June 13th) through their very own record label, Pizza College. After the success of their hyperactive multi-coloured-tracksuit-tastic video, the band have also today uploaded a behind the scenes glimpse of what life on video shoot is like for the six Scots. See it here:

Recently signed to Epitaph Records, Dangerous! will be hitting the UK for the first time this week and hitting it hard with a whole host of live dates in London and across the country, including festival appearances at Download and NASS plus more to be confirmed. The four piece rock band from Down Under will be making noise with their debut album ‘Teenage Rampage’ which was recorded in LA with Grammy nominated producer Ulrich Wild (Deftones, Pantera) and mixed by Marc McClusky (Weezer) and molds a cacophony of garage sound with high-octane rock-n-roll.

The Kinks reissue more classic albums in brand new deluxe format. Legendary British guitar group the Kinks are to re-release three classic albums in a brand new double CD deluxe format on June 13th, following the re-issue of their first three albums in March. These releases follow March’s re-issue of ‘Kinks’ (1964), ‘Kinda Kinks’ (1965) and ‘The Kink Kontroversey’ (1965).

Top Buzzer unleash their debut album Outside Is A World on June 27th through their own label Back2Forward Records. Although recorded in the UK, most of the album was mixed in New York City by Kennan Keating (Nine Inch Nails and Blondie). Top Buzzer’s first full-length release is an antidote to Britain’s coalition hangover. It urges the listener to make an informed view of us lot and to enjoy the good while we can. “Remission”, the first single from the album, is a brash, fast paced, witty and catchy number that is a simile heavy account of the demise of a relationship but, whereas this subject matter would normally be the bastion of minor chord addled misery, Top Buzzer successfully manage to inject a surprising sense of dry fun to the proceedings. This track is a lyrical tour de force with innovative references that compare the demerits of a past love to the infamous Sinclair C5 car.

Veteran Canadian hard rockers Helix are planning to release a compilation album in the fall featuring five new songs plus selections from the band’s previous three CDs, “When Pigs Fly”, “Vagabond Bones”, and “Power Of Rock And Roll”.

Broken Melody announce line up changes. Guitarist Emanuele Ninu has left the Italian melodic metallers for “personal” and “health” reasons and has been replaced by Cristian Sotgiu. In other news, Broken Melody has announced the addition of pianist and composer Giulio Fanelli to the group’s ranks.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.